In the Dog House

Sorry, I have not been keeping up with my Chinese New Year’s resolution to post once a week. I need your help to prod me when you realize we haven’t had a post for a while.

This is also a big week for my personal Chinese new year’s resolution. It was to beat my time from last year in the JP Morgan race on Thursday. I’ll be running along with about 100+ teachers from SAS on 11,000 others Thursday at 6:00. We start on the Esplanade bridge and finish in front of the F-1 pits. I’ve been training by running to school in the morning a couple days per week. If I look exhausted on Friday, you’ll know why.

Several of you have been asking all year long about when  we get to build the dog houses. Well, the time has arrived. You can start designing tonight if you want. They are due next Friday. Check out this doggy mansion!

You’ll need to know several different formulas for surface area and vlume of solids to successfully complete the project. Here is a video showing how to calculate the surface area of a shape almost everyone will have in their dog house– a prism.

Have fun with your dog houses. Be creative, but remember it’s a math project, so the most important thing is that your calculations are accurate.

2 comments so far

  1. Justin Howe on

    That dog mansion looks really cool!!

  2. Aimee J on

    WOW!!! What an awesome dog house!!! I would love it if I were a dog!
    (kinda reminds me of Spanish/Mexican houses with the red roof and white building)

    🙂 Awesome 😀 B)


Leave a comment